© 2019 by Georgia Bio


  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon




Georgia Bio Industry Growth Awards

Presented to two people who have made an extraordinary contribution to the growth of the life sciences industry in Georgia.

2019 Winners

  • C. Russell Allen, President & CEO, Georgia Research Alliance

  • Richard A. Hillstead Ph.D., FAH

Phoenix Award

Presented to two Georgia honorees who have forged academic and industry relationships that will drive translation and lead to new treatments and cures. This award is sponsored by the Metro Atlanta Chamber.


2019 Winner

  • Global Center for Medical Innovation / Rambam Healthcare Campus

Deals of the Year Awards

Presented to one or more companies or institutions for the most significant financial or commercial transactions closed from November 1, 2017-October 31, 2018, based on the importance of the transaction to Georgia’s life sciences industry.

2019 Winners


Becton, Dickinson & Co. & C. R. Bard, Inc.

Wright Medical Group & Cartiva

Economic Development

Boehringer Ingelheim Animal Health


Licensing Agreement

Arbor Pharmaceuticals & Tasly Pharmaceuticals


Private Financing

Antios Therapeutics

Rimidi Diabetes Inc.

Georgia Bio Community Awards

Presented to a small number of individuals, companies or institutions whose contributions to Georgia’s life sciences community are worthy of special recognition.

2019 Winners

  • Atlanta Science Festival

  • Chaarles G. Fogelgren, MBA, med fusion – a Quest Diagnostics Company

  • Pediatric Technology Center, Children's Healthcare of Atlanta

  • Joseph Hobbs, MD, Augusta University

  • Kornelius Bankston, Color Genomics, Inc.

  • International Biomedical Regulatory Sciences Program, University of Georgia, College of Pharmacy

Innovation Awards

Presented to the department, institution, company or individuals who are forging new ground by thinking outside traditional paradigms to create some unique technology.

2019 Winners

  • GloShieldTM, Jackson Medical

  • 3D-Printed Tracheal Splint in Pediatric Patient, Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta / Georgia Institute of Technology​

Emerging Leader of the Year Awards

Presented to young individuals who have made a significant impact on the life sciences industry through their studies or employment.

2019 Winners

  • Benjamin Boward, University of Georgia

  • James R. Lewis, Co-Founder/CEO, Innovation Hub Enterprises

Teacher of the Years

Presented to a Georgia biotechnology high school teacher who exhibits excellence in STEM teaching and support for the biotechnology pathway.

2019 Winners

  • Tricia Pedersen, Paulding County High School

  • Elizabeth Proctor, Jasper County High School

Click Here for a list of previous award winners.
Click here for a list of Award Categories.
Click here to View and/or Download Photos from previous dinners.



Bob McNally, GeoVax (Chair)
Heather Creran
David Hartnett, Metro Atlanta Chamber
Lee Herron, Georgia Research Alliance
Russ Medford, SalutraMed Group
Chris McKinney, Augusta University
Derek Eberhart, University of Georgia, Innovation Gateway
Richard Otto, Impact Cryotherapy

Tiffany Wilson, GCMI

This site was designed with the
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now